## YAKKO'S "NEW" WORLD SONG

(updated by Mrs. Z from the *Anamaniacs* song)

(This is from a cartoon television program that aired in 1993. Several of the countries have changed since then, so the original song is no longer very useful, except for the tune. This version is a lot more accurate. See the notes at the end and the pronunciation guide for even more information.)

United States, Canada, Mexico, Panama, Haiti, Jamaica, Peru; Grenada, Dominica, then Argentina, St. Vincent, the Grenadines too; Nicaragua, El Salvador, Venezuela, Honduras, Guyana, and still, Guatemala, Bolivia, Cuba, Colombia, Ecuador, Chile, Brazil; Costa Rica, Belize, Trinidad and Tobago, Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda\*; Paraguay, Uruguay, Suriname, and French Guiana, Antigua, Barbuda.

Norway and Sweden and Iceland and Finland and Germany (all one piece); Switzerland, Austria, and Montenegro, Italy, Turkey, and Greece; Poland, Romania, Scotland, Albania, Ireland, Azerbaijan. Russia, Slovenia, Georgia, Armenia, Latvia, Turkmenistan; Then *Qatar*, Estonia, plus Macedonia, *Liechtenstein*, Wales, the Ukraine; The Netherlands, Luxembourg, Belgium & Portugal, France, England, Denmark, & Spain.

Croatia and Bosnia-Herzegovina, Kosovo (with mountains so pretty), Andorra, Kazakhstan, and Belarus, then San Marino and Vatican City; Czech Republic, Gibraltar,\* Slovakia, Malta, Moldova, then Uzbekistan; Bulgaria, Saudi Arabia, Hungary, Cyprus, Iraq, and Iran; There's Syria, Lebanon, Israel, Jordan, and Yemen, Bahrain, and Kuwait, Monaco, *Kyrgyzstan*, and there's Tajikistan, United Ar'b Emirates.

India, Pakistan, Myanmar, Afghanistan, Thailand, Nepal, and Bhutan; Mongolia, Singapore, Bangladesh, *Brunei*, plus *Nauru*, the *Maldives*, Japan; *Laos*, Micronesia, Tibet, Indonesia, the Philippines, and Tuvalu; *Sri Lanka*, New Zealand, Vietnam and Greenland, and China, then *Vanuatu*; There's *Palau*, Malaysia, the Marshalls, Australia, plus *Kiribati*, Tonga, then on to Western Samoa, then Fiji, Cambodia, the Solomon Islands, Taiwan.

Burundi, *Lesotho*, and Malawi, Togo, (after Africa and extras we're done) Niger, Nigeria, Chad and Liberia, Egypt, Benin, and Gabon; *Mauritius*, Somalia, Kenya, and Mali, South Africa, and the *Seychelles*; Republic of Congo, Namibia, Senegal, Libya, Burkina Faso as well; Tunisia, Morocco, Uganda, Angola, Zimbabwe, *Djibouti*, Botswana; The Central Republic of Africa, and Equatorial *Guinea*, and Ghana.

Swaziland, Guinea, Western Sahara – the fate of which we're waiting to know; The Ivory Coast, The Union Comoros, Sierra Leone, Democratic Congo; Mozambique, Zambia, also the Gambia, Cameroon, and Eritrea; Sao Tome & Principe Islands, Cape Verde, Algeria, and Tanzania; Ethiopia, Guinea-Bissau, Madagascar, Rwanda, and then the Sudan; Hong Kong, Mauritania, plus Lithuania, then St. Lucia, North and South Korea, Republic Dominican, Papua New Guinea 'n' Saint Kitts and *Nevis*, Oman!

## **Pronunciation Guide for Some of the Trickier Countries**

- Qatar = "cut-are"
- Liechtenstein = "lick-tin-stine"
- Kyrgyzstan = "ker-jih-stahn"
- Brunei = "Brune-nigh"
- Nauru = "Nah-oo-roo"
- Maldives = "mawl-deeves"
- Laos = "louse"
- Sri Lanka = "shree-lanka"
- Vanuatu = "vah-noo-ah-too"
- Palau = "puh-lough"
- Kiribati = "kir-ree-bas"
- Lesotho = lih-soo-too
- Mauritius = moh-rish-iss"
- Seychelles = "say-shellz"
- Djibouti = "jih-booty"
- Guinea "ginney"
- Eritrea "air-ih-tree-ah"
- Sao Tome & Principe Islands = "sow tuh-MAY and prin-see-pay"
- Guinea-Bissau = "ginney biss-sow"
- Nevis = "knee-vis"

## **Notes:**

- The United Kingdom is one nation comprising the countries England, Wales, Scotland, and Northern Ireland.
- Gibraltar and Bermuda are British Overseas territories.
- Hong Kong was a British territory until their lease ran out in 1997, and it is now part of China.
- French Guiana on the northeast coast of South America is an overseas department (region) of France.
- Greenland, ("Kalaallit Nunaat",) is a country within the Kingdom of Denmark. It's listed in the middle of Asia to keep the rhyme.
- Tibet is part of China.
- The Western Sahara is a disputed territory in northwest Africa. It is mostly occupied by Morocco, with Algeria claiming the southern part.
- Myanmar used to be called Burma.
- Also note that the following pairs each make up one nation: Antigua & Barbuda, Trinidad & Tobago, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, St. Kitts & Nevis, Sao Tome & Principe.